Receipt Hog Examined Oct 2, 2026 Paid in spins No stated cash value

Join Receipt Hog with a code and you get 5 spins once you upload a paper receipt. Receipt Hog puts no cash value on them.

Think twicefive spins with no stated cash value is the whole sign-up reward, and there is no way to dress it up. Add a $5 floor before anything the app pays can be redeemed, and an inactivity rule that can erase the lot.
5 spins for youNo stated cash valueCash out at $5Examined Oct 2
5 spinswith no stated cash value, once you join with a code and upload your first paper receipt

Receipt Hog publishes no dollar value for a spin, so we do not put one on them. What its help center does publish is the coin rate: 1,000 coins is $5, which makes a coin half a cent.

Whether you get anything at all comes down to one line in the help center, and to the kind of receipt it names.

Quoted from Receipt Hog

“Once they upload their first paper receipt, it’s… 5 spins for them.”

The terms, effective November 12, 2025, set the cash-out floor just as plainly.

Quoted from Receipt Hog

“The minimum reward redemption value is $5 (1,000 Coins).”
Nothing is redeemable until you reach $5. Cash-out starts at 1,000 coins, and a receipt pays 5 to 20 coins. Meanwhile “accounts become inactive after three months without a paper receipt upload,” at which point “your coins, sweepstake entries, and spins will also expire.”
  • Stated cash value of the 5 spins you getNone stated
  • What your balance has to reach before any of it can be redeemed$5

Both from Receipt Hog: 5 spins for a new member with no value attached, and a minimum redemption of $5 (1,000 Coins).

What pays what

You, when you upload your first paper receipt after joining with a code5 spins, no stated value
1,000 coins$5, the minimum redemption
2,900 coins$15
4,300 coins$25
6,500 coins$40, the best rate
Three months with no paper receipt uploadedCoins, spins and entries expire

One honest footnote in Receipt Hog’s favor: the coin rate improves as you save up. At the top tier, 6,500 coins for $40, a coin is worth about six tenths of a cent instead of half a cent.

Do this, in this order

  1. Know the size of the prize before you spend any effort. Five spins with no stated cash value is the whole sign-up reward. Receipt Hog is a market research app: you photograph shopping receipts, it sells the purchase data, and you get coins. That can be a fair trade. It is not a bonus play.
  2. It has to be a paper receipt. The trigger sentence quoted above names a paper receipt and nothing else. Emailed and in-app digital receipts are handled differently in Receipt Hog and are not what fires the referral. If you shop mostly online, the spins may never arrive.
  3. Nothing is redeemable below $5. Cash-out starts at $5, which is 1,000 coins, and a receipt pays 5 to 20 coins. There is no partial redemption and no way to move a balance out of the app: “You cannot redeem rewards outside of the Receipt Hog Application.”
  4. Stay active at least every three months, forever. The terms define inactivity as three consecutive months without uploading receipts, sharing purchase data or making a redemption request; hit it and the account goes inactive, and Receipt Hog says outright that coins, sweepstake entries and spins expire with it. The terms go further: the company “may suspend or eliminate your Receipt Hog Account after three consecutive months of inactivity” in the US, and after one year in Canada.
  5. Finish the setup chores before you try to redeem. To cash out at all you must have completed the Introductory Questionnaire, verified your device, and verified your email address. Do that early rather than discovering it at the moment you finally hit $5.
  6. One account per household, to be safe. The terms, effective November 12, 2025, say “You may register for one Account per person” and “Individuals may only open one Account.” Receipt Hog’s help center is stricter: “Only one account is allowed per household.” Its reason is the data it sells: “Receipt Hog reward funds are generated by our ability to report on household spending habits.” So do not count on a second account for a partner under the same roof. What no one may do under either text is open a second account for themselves, and the terms warn that trying “may result in suspension of their primary Account”.
  7. Check the geography and the age rule. The terms cover the United States and Canada only, reward value “is always in the currency of the country on which your account is based,” and you must be at least the age of majority where you live.

What the app itself pays, for scale

Receipts pay by basket size. Under $10 earns 5 coins, $10 to $50 earns 10 coins, $50 to $100 earns 15 coins, and $100 or more earns 20 coins. In dollars, that is two and a half cents for a small shop and ten cents for a large one.

There is a weekly throttle. “When you earn 100 coins from Coin-Receipts within a week, each additional receipt … will earn 5 coins.” So the fifty-cents-a-week ceiling arrives quickly, and heavy uploading past it earns the minimum regardless of basket size.

Payout forms are decent, and approval takes up to a week. PayPal, an Amazon gift card, or a Visa gift card, and “for all three redemption options … the monetary choices are the same.” Receipt Hog says a cash-out request “will be reviewed and approved within 7 days of your request date.”

Open receipthog.comReceipt Hog’s own site.
Read the referral help articleThe 5 spins and the paper receipt requirement.

Is it worth your time?

Not as a bonus. Five spins with no stated value is a thin sign-up reward, and the three-month expiry clock punishes exactly the slow, occasional user this app attracts. Receipt Hog is not dishonest about any of it, and if you are already photographing your grocery receipts for the sweepstakes then a code costs you nothing. But do not join for the spins, and do not let anyone list this alongside real signup bonuses as though the amounts are comparable.

If you go on to refer people yourself

Once you are a member, each friend who joins with your code and uploads a first paper receipt earns you 250 coins, which is $1.25 at the entry rate, so four of them reach the $5 floor. Receipt Hog does not state a limit on how many people you can invite, and it does not state that there is none.

Second opinions

5 spins
no stated cash value
Open receipthog.com