Chime deep dive

Does your direct deposit count for Chime? Two tests, and Chime publishes both.

Only if an eligible payer sent it, in one deposit of $200 or more. Chime counts an employer, a payroll provider, a gig economy payer or a government benefits payer. It excludes instant card payouts, tax refunds, bank ACH transfers, and PayPal, Cash App or Venmo, and smaller deposits never add up.

Dr. Fine Print Terms examined Sep 25, 2026 5 min read Instant card payouts do not count
It depends on two tests: who sent the money, and whether one deposit reached $200.

Chime’s deposit article sets both tests. Pass one and fail the other and the deposit does not qualify, which is why a real $150 paycheck can land in a Chime account and still not count.

This page is Chime-specific. For the general version of this question, see our broader guide to what counts as a direct deposit.

Chime Chime referral offerOne $200 deposit in 45 days, card activated in 14 · Worth it if Read the full Chime guide →

Test one: who sent it?

Chime lists four payers whose deposits qualify:

Quoted from Chime

“Qualifying deposit sources
Employer
Payroll provider
Gig economy payer
Government benefits payer”

Chime puts the rule in one line: “Not every direct deposit is a qualifying direct deposit. The key difference is the source.” The network the money travels on does not settle it. ACH is the standard bank-to-bank network most payroll uses, and Chime says “Deposits from peer-to-peer apps or bank-to-bank transfers do not count, even if they arrive via ACH.” The payer decides it.

The two lists, side by side

EmployerQualifies
Payroll providerQualifies
Gig economy payerQualifies
Government benefits payerQualifies

Quoted from Chime

“Not qualifying deposit sources
Bank ACH transfers
Pay Anyone transfers
Verification or trial deposits from financial institutions
Peer-to-peer transfers (PayPal, Cash App, Venmo)
Mobile check deposits
Cash deposits
One-time deposits such as tax refunds
Instant card payouts”
Bank ACH transfersMoney moved between banks, no payer
Pay Anyone transfersChime’s own person-to-person transfers
Verification or trial depositsTest amounts, not income
PayPal, Cash App or Venmo transfersSender is an app, not a payer
Mobile check depositsPhotographed check, not a payer’s deposit
Cash depositsNo payer at all
One-time deposits such as tax refundsA single payment, not pay
Instant card payoutsCashed out instantly to your card

The two that surprise people most: photographing a paycheck does not count, even though the money really is payroll, and freelancers paid through PayPal fail because the sender is an app. Chime gives that exact case: “A transfer from your PayPal balance, even if it comes from work you did, does not.” Have the payer pay into Chime directly and both problems go away.

Gig workers: same platform, two different answers

The same platform, paying the same earnings, can count or not, depending on how you take the money. A gig economy payer is on the qualifying list. Instant card payouts are on the excluded one.

In July, Chime’s article named Uber Instant Pay and DoorDash Fast Pay. The current one names no app, and no longer says a gig payout must run on a schedule. It excludes instant card payouts and stops there. It does not say how it tells a gig payout from an instant card payout.

If you usually cash out to your card the moment you earn, this is the whole answer. Nothing about your work or your platform rules you out. Let one payout of $200 or more reach Chime by direct deposit, and do not take it as an instant card payout.

Test two: one deposit of $200 or more

The size rule sits in the same article, in a note under the two lists:

Quoted from Chime

“Multiple smaller deposits do not combine to meet the $200 threshold. A single deposit must be $200 or more to qualify.”
  • One qualifying deposit of $200$200
  • Two qualifying deposits of $150 each$150 + $150

Chime reads one deposit at a time, so the bigger total is the one that fails.

The word doing the work is single. Two $150 paychecks total $300 and still fail, because neither one reaches $200 on its own.

For the referral bonus, two clocks on top

A qualifying deposit is what the referral bonus runs on. Chime writes its referral article to the member sending the link, so in it, “your friend” and “they” mean you:

Quoted from Chime

“Your friend signs up for a Chime Checking Account using your referral link.
They receive a single qualifying direct deposit of $200 or more within 45 days of opening their account.
They activate their physical card within 14 calendar days of receiving that qualifying direct deposit.”
Within 45 days of opening the account One single qualifying deposit of $200 or more has to land. Two $150 deposits do not add up. Miss the window and the referral bonus is off
Within 14 calendar days of that deposit The physical card has to be activated.

Chime's standard referral program terms, read September 25, 2026.

Check which link you have before you open the account. Chime’s troubleshooting article says someone who signs up through a Pay Anyone referral link gets $15 instead of $100, and adds: “These are two separate programs with different reward amounts.” The link you sign up with cannot be changed afterwards, so ask for a Standard Referral Program link.

Check your own pay stub in two minutes

  1. Is it one deposit, or several? Chime looks at each deposit on its own. Smaller deposits do not add up.
  2. Is the single figure $200 or more? Use the net amount that hits the account, not the gross on the stub.
  3. Is the payer an employer, a payroll provider, a gig economy payer or a government benefits payer? If the sender is you, an app, a person, a check photo or cash, it fails.
  4. Is it an instant card payout? If you usually cash out gig earnings to your card, let one payout arrive by direct deposit instead.

All four clean, and the deposit counts. For the referral bonus, what is left is the card, activated within 14 calendar days: order it on day one and watch the post. The full Chime guide covers the whole sequence.

What Chime does not say

How it tells a gig payout from an instant card payoutNot stated
How long the bonus takes to pay outNot stated
Which account it lands inNot stated
A clawback clauseNone found
Account must stay openNone found

None found is not the same as none existing: we read the articles and did not see one. Chime’s help articles show no revision date, which is why the chip at the top gives the date we read them.

Direct deposit FAQ

Does Uber Instant Pay count for Chime?

Not as an instant cashout to your card. Chime now excludes “Instant card payouts” and names no app. A gig economy payer paying you by direct deposit is on the qualifying list.

Does a tax refund count?

No. Chime excludes “One-time deposits such as tax refunds” by name.

Do two $150 paychecks add up to $200?

No. Chime says “Multiple smaller deposits do not combine to meet the $200 threshold.” One deposit has to reach $200 on its own.

Does a transfer from my own bank count?

No. Bank ACH transfers, Pay Anyone transfers, and transfers from PayPal, Cash App or Venmo are all on the excluded list. A qualifying deposit needs a payer paying you.

Does a PayPal payment for work I did count?

No. Chime’s own example: “A transfer from your PayPal balance, even if it comes from work you did, does not.”

Does every direct deposit count?

No. In Chime’s words, “Not every direct deposit is a qualifying direct deposit.” The source decides it, and one deposit has to be $200 or more.

Open on chime.comChime's own site. Opening from here, without a friend's link, pays no referral bonus to anyone.
Read the full Chime guideThe 45-day window, the 14-day card clock, and what the offer is actually worth.

Other definitions that decide whether you qualify

Every one of these is read from the company’s own document and dated. See all 66 questions we have answered.