Joining Delta SkyMiles pays nothing, but SkyMiles Dining pays a new member 1,000 miles for one $30 meal eaten in and paid on a linked card within 30 days.
Delta's sign-up page and the dining offer page are both built in JavaScript, and a plain fetch of either shows no offer. Rendered, the SkyMiles Dining page states it: 1,000 bonus miles in your first 30 days, on top of the 3 miles per $1 every dining member on the email list earns. Delta's SkyMiles rules also say an enrollment bonus is dropped if Delta merges a duplicate account, so one person, one account.
What pays what
| New dining member: one dine-in of $30 or more within 30 days of joining | 1,000 bonus miles |
|---|---|
| Every $1 spent at participating restaurants and bars, as a member on the email list | 3 miles |
| A Delta SkyMiles American Express Card linked instead | More, amount not stated |
| Joining SkyMiles itself | No bonus found on any Delta page we read |
| Referring a friend | No program on delta.com |
| An order through a third-party ordering or delivery site | Nothing toward the bonus |
Under the SkyMiles Mileage Expiration policy, miles do not expire.
A $30 meal at 3 miles per $1 earns 90 miles on top of the bonus, our arithmetic. The rules add a catch: “Medallion Status, benefits, and/or miles in the SkyMiles account will be forfeited when an account is closed.”
Do this, in this order
- Check you qualify. The bonus is for new SkyMiles Dining members in the 50 states and DC without a dining profile. If you already have a dining profile, this is not for you.
- Create the web login and link the card you will pay with. The 30 days run from joining SkyMiles Dining. The check must be paid with a card linked to the account.
- Spend $30 or more on one dine-in check. Tax and tip count. Check the restaurant's reward days first; the page warns that some restaurants pay only on certain days of the week or up to a monthly spending amount.
- Stay subscribed until the miles post. The details require you to remain opted in to SkyMiles Dining email, and to keep meeting the program's Select or VIP-level criteria until the bonus posts. The dining help center defines them: “Select Members earn 3 miles per $1 spent if you elect to receive email communication from SkyMiles Dining.” VIP also needs 11 qualified transactions in a calendar year. Leave the email list and you drop to 1 mile per $2. The offer also cannot be combined with other SkyMiles Dining bonuses.
- Look for the miles after 4 to 6 weeks, and ask before day 90. “All account inquiries related to this bonus must be received within 90 days of the dine associated with this bonus.”
What Delta does not publish, and where its pages disagree
Takeout, or not. The top of the offer page says to spend $30 on a single dine-in or takeout order. The New Member Bonus details, which are the rules, say dining-in. We follow the details.
An end date. There is none. The card must be linked beginning October 1, 2025, and then: “Offer subject to change or end at any time without notice, at our sole discretion.”
The American Express extra. Delta SkyMiles American Express Card Members are told to “Link that card to earn even more.” How much more is not stated.
A joining bonus for SkyMiles itself. The Program Rules, last updated January 1, 2026, mention enrollment bonuses only to say one can be left out when duplicate accounts are merged. No Delta page we read states an amount for joining, and the rules contain no referral clause. Miles from qualifying activity typically post within eight weeks, unless an offer says otherwise; this one says 4 to 6.
The dining program's own terms. The SkyMiles Dining Terms of Use, run by Rewards Network with Delta, warn that not every meal earns: purchases “may qualify only up to a specified dollar amount, or only if made during certain time periods on specified days”. How you pay matters too: “Please do not use a debit card PIN or a third-party payment app if you want a qualifying purchase to earn rewards.” You must be at least 18 and a US resident. The list of participating restaurants is not public: the terms say “current Participating Merchants, are available by signing in to your Program account”, so we did not read it.
Is it worth your time?
If you fly Delta even occasionally and eat at restaurants, it is a small, fair offer: one ordinary $30 meal, eaten in, earns 1,000 miles plus the regular 90, and SkyMiles do not expire while the account stays open. The pages we read put no dollar value on a mile, and neither do we.
It is not a reason to open a second SkyMiles account, which Delta may merge or cancel, and it is not a referral: nobody needs to invite you, and nobody earns anything for sending you. If you need a bigger number, the Southwest page below explains a credit card bonus, which is a different kind of commitment.